Put Down That Phone: Texting While Driving Is Now Officially Illegal In Texas

If you’re on the road, just let the text go.

Effective yesterday, it’s illegal to text while driving across the great state of Texas.

Chances are you’ve driven through cities or towns that already have the law in effect, but now there’s no guessing: you cannot text and drive in Texas.

If you violate the law, you’ll face a misdemeanor charge and a fine of between $25 to $99.  But if you’re a repeat offender, you could be looking at a $200 fine.

According to statistics, 40% of people between 19-39 years-old say they text and drive.  Even more chilling: last year, 455 people were killed, and more than 3,000 were seriously injured, in crashes due to driver distractions.

Don’t worry (but still be careful!) if you’re operating a GPS system or music app on your cell phone, though: this measure doesn’t impact that.

Source: Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram: or just check out my blog here!

©2017 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More from Mike Hatch
Comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live